Glenn Norberg

Oct 6, 2020
Colorado, USA
Hello all, PLEASE HELP! LOL. I am new to this whole thing, I am building a 4-dish parabolic mic array for outdoor use. I will be recording with a Zoom H6n recorder. I am looking for microphone suggestions/insights. It appears that many dishes use lavalier mics. As I am 3D printing my own parabolic array, I have the opportunity to use pencil type condenser mics, But as I am new to this, I really have no idea what I should be looking at.

I do not have alot of money for this project, and I found a pair of mics for about $100 US. I am looking at these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000CZ0RLU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Would these be appropriate for my use? Or should I be looking at lavalier mics? I am hoping to stay in this same budget (About $200 US for 4 mics) The dishes will be connected via XLR cables to the Zoom recorder no more than 25' away. I am afraid that 10' is a bit close, so I purchased 25' cables.

Thank you so much!

I am not anywhere near adept at electronics - so homemade gear (mics, preamps etc) are not quite out of the question, but close. Off the shelf is preferred.

Last edited:
What are you trying to capture?
The goal is to have (more or less) 360 degree coverage with (400mm dia) dishes to magnify the sounds. My limited experience with a hand held dish (prototype #1 ) allowed me to catch (annoyingly so) amplified audio from a fairly wide angle, and focus the dish where I chose for accuracy. The reason for the 4 dishes is to help determine the direction of a sound source. Then we would turn the array to face one of the dishes, focusing at the source. I figured that we would put them on a rotatable turntable of sorts.