Compressor novice... need starting point for rock vocals

N00b here to SoundForums.net, and minimal experience actually running sound, but I've played in bar bands for years. I've also lurked for years and occasionally posted at PSW, so many of the names here are familiar.

I just bought my first compressor, a used dbx 166XL. Our rock band has up to five vocals but I have only this two-channel unit. Can I get away with using it as a bus insert?

I have zero experience with dialing in a compressor. What are some good settings to use as a starting point on a single voice? Our female lead has a lot of dynamic range - she can get pretty loud and operatic - but not much mic technique.

How about settings on a vocal bus?

Thanks for all suggestions, including "do a search" and "RTFM".

Compressors are a tool. What specific problem with your mix are you looking to fix?

I am not a fan of group compression especially on vocals as one performer can throw off the dynamics of the entire group.

I also don't like high levels of compression on the entire mix even though that is sneaking out of the recording industry and becoming more common live.

I would start with either your two main singers or the two that have the most inconsistent dynamics and insert your two channels of compression on those channels. For vocals I prefer a fast attack and fairly long release at about 2:1 and then roll down the threshold until the channel just stays lightly in compression. And then use the makeup gain to place the vocal where you want it in the mix.

Re: Compressor novice... need starting point for rock vocals

Compressors are a tool. What specific problem with your mix are you looking to fix?

The female vocalist can get very loud in her upper range, and doesn't have awareness of the mic technique to counter it. Another vocalist doesn't get very close to the mic - unless he's playing harmonica.