Getting started...need advice

Peter Barton

Nov 14, 2018
Bangkok
I am new to this but I am eager to learn. My daughter is the one with the musical talent, she is the frontwoman for a band. This is a HS aged band and they are doing it for fun at this point. Also of note this is not a "typical" situation, this is an Expat school overseas and the students will all move on after graduation. My daughter is an exceptional singer and she "has the bug". They have an opportunity to play an outdoor gig with a couple hundred people. This event is not a concert but more entertainment while people are moving around and such. picture a small town festival with people waiting in line for food booths and game tables and such. They currently do not have a PA system. I am looking into finding rental options, but am also considering an investment. I am wondering if a pair of JBL EON 615's can do the job along with a Yamaha MX20XU (or similar) mixer. I am picturing being able to expand to the subs in the future and do add ons, but want to limit my investment for now. Any suggestions for best bang for buck.

The Band currently has Drums, 2x guitar, Bass, occasional keys, and vocals. They play pop / rock music. (Cranberries, GnR, to Adele)

Thanks for the input

Reactions: dan elvernon
My first thought is to rent gear. A powered mixer and a couple of passive cabs should do for a start-up band.
If I were you I'd start by purchasing a personal mic for your daughter - one that only she will use. (I am a local sound provider and I can't believe the number of vocalists that will use any mic put in front of him/her.) I'm not a "germ-a-phobe" but....... A vocal mic (xlr) can be used almost anywhere.. A Shure SM58 has been the industry standard for years.

Why rent a PA? Depending on your location in Europe the power situation is probably different in that of the states and the cost of shipping gear back to the states would probably amount to the same as renting it in the first place.