IEMs, Singers and Occlusion

Continuing on from this excellent thread...
I think this is a great subject that could use a lot more discussion and solutions.

So, I only recently started seriously mixing for In-Ears. I've been a FOH engineer forever, and my monitor work typically was for wedges and only occasional IEMs. Never really studied different players mixes, just gave them what they want, or created something if they weren't specific about what they wanted.

So what I've been noticing is the huge variance in how much vocal each IEM user likes to have to feel comfortable. Some like their vocal just a little over the mix as you would expect. Others want 6 to even 12db or more of their vocal over top of their mix. It's almost unlistenable to cue up their mixes and there's no way I could listen to it at the volume level they like it. These are all players with custom moulded IEMS, mostly good ones like UE-11 or the like. I'm not including anyone who has unmoulded IEMs in this discussion as they aren't really taking it seriously and their mix could be all over the place depending on the fit.

So, since there's no way for me to REALLY hear what they're hearing, I gotta assume that they simply can't hear their vocal within their mix due to occlusion? I'm not a singer, but I know if I put in my IEMs and talk into a mic, I hear a mix of my voice and what I call my "inside head" voice which is all low frequency. The same sound you hear if you just plug your ears.
Now, if I push my In-Ears in as far as they will go (touching what feels like bone, and it's not very comfortable) I can get to a point where the low "inside head" voice goes away and I hear a brighter sound from the mic. Does this mean that my IEMs are not long enough? They don't sit in this "tighter" position on their own and will fall back to a more comfortable position in the ear once I stop pressing on them.
Is this what occlusion sounds like?