Newbie question(s) on Soundcraft GB4

David Kulick

Jul 20, 2018
By way of introduction, I'm new to this but I don't have a day job. I'm a retired computer programmer living in a 55+ community that has a 350 seat theater with a Soundcraft GB4 (32 channel) board. We mostly get tribute bands - this coming year we have the Rolling Stones, Doors, Creedence, Neil Diamond, etc., and some small local bands and old crooner folks. I started helping out last year, setting up monitors and cabling instruments and learned how to use XLR cables, direct boxes, and such. I also handled one of the two spotlights. The sound guy isn't available for most of the shows this year and I'm going to be handling the board.

I pretty much understand the GB4. I've watched every youtube video on it (and similar analog boards), and I've read the manual several times and sometimes I just sit there and play with it and figure out how it works. Most videos ignore the group and matrix sections, and we never used those before, but our sound guy always brought two SM57s to mike the drums (one kick, one overhead) and since we won't have those mikes, I bought the Shure PGADrumKit7 and a second 8 channel snake to handle those seven mikes. If nothing else, we should end up with a cleaner drum sound.