Second guessing the engineers

Jay Barracato

Graduate Student
Jan 11, 2011
Solomons MD
It seems like second guessing the design engineers is a common thread starter.

Yesterday, I was playing with my HPR181 and 152's, trying to use SMAART to look closer at the crossover region. The HPR's have a built in crossover that is at 100 hz.

I started with the boxes stacked with the front edges aligned. It seemed my best measurement was at 1m on axis with the mic centered between the two boxes. I also tried ground plane at 1m and 2 m. I was getting consistent results with all three positiona. I finally determined a delay of 1.5 ms.

Then I switched over to the pole mount and determined the delay needed. You guessed it: 0 ms.

Lesson learned: If you are going to use a system that is designed to work together, it is probably best to trust the designers.

This is probably biased because I have been listening to these boxes with minimum processing for two years, but I didn't find any eq changes for the top that I thought sounded better than just leaving the processing flat.

Re: Second guessing the engineers

+1 - I'm in that same boat.

I bought the EAW JFL stuff rather than competing gear, because the JFL with UX8800 is a ''system''. I plug it in, dial for delay (if I'm doing a non-standard deployment of some kind), and maybe dial down a room mode. Other than that it's plug and play - no time wasted ''shooting the room''. I spend time fixing the issues that really matter, and the gig is better for it.

+1 - I plug it in, dial for delay (if I'm doing a non-standard deployment of some kind), and maybe dial down a room mode. Other than that it's plug and play - no time wasted ''shooting the room''.