smaart 7 how many mics ?

Re: smaart 7 how many mics ?

In the same vein, which do you think would be more useful: multiple mics, or multiple pick off points for the reference?

I know you can patch through a monitor out on many boards so you can test various buses, but do you think it is worthwhile in the field to also pick off say post system eq or post dsp?

I have a MOTU traveler hybrid which gives me 2 mic preamps, but has 8 additional line level inputs.

Of course the first time I ever set up in a venue (I am new to this), I got about halfway through checking when an employee of the venue picked up the mic and moved it, without saying a thing to me.

I have four mics, but rarely use more than two and in most cases just use one. The number of mics I use usually depends on how many systems the PA is made of (infill oufill etc.) In larger venues like arenas and convention centers I typically have a FOH mic and a ''travler'' mic that is on a super long cable. You don't need more than one reference but you can probe electronics without microphones and compair them to the reference if you need to.

how many mics on average are u guys using for live analysis?

im thinking to upgrade,,maybe slowly,,and am considering a digidesign 002r as the interface,but it only has 4 pre's.

second hand it is around twice the price of a new beh..... ada8000.

any preferences/comments?

I use up to 7. I wish there was an internal loopback function so I could use 8. My measurement cart is set up for 8 mics-with cable reels-stands etc.

I am typically measuring at gigs, with load ins in the morning and shows in the evening, so I have to be about efficiency. If I am tweaking an install I use as many mics as needed (well, up to 4) because time is less of an issue. If you are gigging I can almost garuntee you will be using one ore two mics the majority of the time.