Subwoofer help please; Yorkville TX9s or VTC-NS9

Bob Dodge

Freshman
Nov 9, 2011
Hi guys, I need a bit of help/guidance with some Yorkville and VTC subs.

I just came across what seems to be an outstanding deal on TX9s and VTC NS-9 sub-woofers. ($1199./box, delivered). Now, I really wasn't in the market for new subs, since I recently bought a pair of LS801P's (Feb./2012). All of my cabinets are active, so I have no experience with separate power-amps/processors.

Does anyone here know what the difference is between the TX9s and the VTC NS-9? Both are by Yorkville, and on the surface, the specs appear identical. I'm assuming that the VTC line-up is Yorkvilles' higher-end line-up. (better drivers??? better processing????)

TX9s;
Yorkville Sound: TX

VTC Inception NS9;
.:: VTC Pro Audio - NS9 ::.

I'll have questions about recommended power, but for now, I'd like to sort out the differences of these particular boxes. I'd also like a bit of perspective regarding the difference between these boxes, and the LS801P's, which on paper, go louder. I realize the TX9s go much lower (30Hz/-3dB vs. 45Hz/-3dB)

My current tops are U15P's, EF-500PB's, and NX55P's.

Re: Subwoofer help please; Yorkville TX9s or VTC-NS9