Thoughts on old EAW KF gear

Marlon Daniel

Freshman
Mar 6, 2012
Upper Marlboro, MD
First off, Happy Holidays Soundforums.net

Now, the question.

I am seeing the market flooded with alot of used EAW KF gear (KF850, KF650e/i/z, KF300i/z).

As a weekend warrior who does christian/gospel events (i.e. may not need 115 db at 75' FOH in nothing larger than a "gymatorium" with 900 packed to capacity), would looking into these boxes be a feasible route? I have done 2 VRX932 per side and the coverage was great for me (just WOW those boxes are bright!!). I already have a pair of SB1000z, which while are heavy are the step up from the SRX718s that I will use for smaller productions (500 total capcacity, 105 db at 50'). The weight doesn't bother me (i am 35, and I always have help). Being a musician I am really big on sound quality at this point, and if investing in used KF stuff will give the quality that I am looking for at this point then I can use this until I can afford a pair of Danley SH50s 8)~:cool:~:cool:.

Thanks Soundforums.net!

MGD

Re: Thoughts on old EAW KF gear

It's all solid gear. Anything that has greybox presets for the UX8800 can still be considered a modern box, and the older gear sounds quite good with standard DSP (or in some cases, even without).

If I were in your position, I'd be looking at the 650s, as the 850 is more than you need, and the 300 isn't enough for those rooms (think of it as a nice speaker on a stick)

Being a musician I am really big on sound quality at this point, and if investing in used KF stuff will give the quality that I am looking for at this point then I can use this until I can afford a pair of Danley SH50s 8)~:cool:~:cool:.

MGD
In many cases a pair of SH50's (1 per side) is not going to provide a wide enough coverage for many venues. For others it is fine.

If you are looking at Danley-then I suggest the SM80. Wider coverage-lighter-pole mountable-less expensive and just as loud or louder.