XR18 Gig Report

Chad Young

Freshman
May 17, 2011
North Central FL
Finally got a chance to run an XR18 through its paces at a live gig this week and thought I would share my results, thoughts, and observations on this unique little mixer.

About me: I am an IT guy by day and local sound guy on nights and weekends. I've been mixing off and on for a few decades, but only recently started doing some pro-level work with regional acts and c/d-list nationals. My digital desk experience is 01v, 01v96, X32, XR18, DL1608, and Soundcraft Vi series. My specialty is jazz and cabaret sound, but most of my recent pro work has been everything from punk to reggae.

A few weeks ago, I bought and received an XR18 and promptly had it set up in my work room for testing. Using the built-in access point, wired ethernet, and an external wireless access point, I was able to connect to the mixer easily via iPad (version 3) and a Windows 7 PC. The beta XAir Edit app on the PC was workable, but incomplete, as expected, and the iPad app also did not seem to be fully realised.

Fast forward to last week, Behringer releases a final non-beta XAir Edit app, firmware v1.09, and updated apps for iPad and Android. After installing the firmware and updatig the related apps, my personal XR18 mixer finally seemed to me to be complete enough to do a full gig. Lots of useful tools were implemented, the number of effects expanded, and the layout made cleaner and more useful.

Other posts are out there that go into great detail about the features and known issues, so I am going to focus instead on my experiences doing my first live gig at a local venue with their new XR18.