A tad demoralising

Lisa Lane-Collins

Sophomore
Dec 9, 2012
Adelaide, Australia
So the biggest hire company in town advertised for crew, and I applied, and did not even make it to the group interview which was peopled mostly by complete beginners. Ok fair enough maybe they want to train up from scratch for these jobs.

Then they advertised again for experienced techs this time, 3 years minimum. Well, I've been doing this for 8, I should be a shoe-in.

Finally received a reply from HR who obliged me on my request to know why I was being rejected if rejection was the case.

This is what she had to say

Thank you for your email. I’m aware that you have applied to *company name* a couple of times through other processes and have not been successful in receiving an interview. I’m sorry I didn’t realise when speaking with you on the phone.

As you have specifically requested feedback, I have spoken to our Operations Manager about why your application has not been accepted and can provide the following feedback.

I have been informed that you previously worked on a casual basis with *company name* for a short time. Our hiring policy is structured so that we can bring people into the organisation and allow them to show us what they can do and also test if they have the right attitude and fit for the business.

We take our brand very seriously and therefore a close fit in regards to attitude, aptitude and abilities is essential. You obviously have had experience since your time at *company name* so I’m assuming your abilities are sound.

Unfortunately, the staff that worked with you at the time did not believe that you had the right attitude and aptitude to become a full time *company name* staff member. Apparently there were some concerns with potential conflict other personalities already on staff and also a concern with reliability (apparently a number of shifts were rejected or not attended).