Amp recommendation for Turbo TMS 3 and custom subs - on a budget

Tom Moro

Jul 13, 2021
Italy
Hi everyone, I'm looking for advice regarding turbo TMS 3's. I found a good enough deal on a pair of these cabs with original drivers - specs below - but i'm kind of lost in the midst of the power amp realm. This would be my first PA system therefore I would like to pair it with a realiable and clean sounding amp set.

As mentioned this is my first project and am therfore inexperienced so please do not hate too much and be patient (;

Regarding the subs I'll most probably end up building the cabs myself - possibly on TSE 118 design or maybe on Funktion one F118, but any advice on these as well would be much appreciated. On this matter, I am trying to find some good drivers in the 700-1000w range - I hear italian maker Lavoce produces some noteworthy drivers, though on the pricey side.

2 x TSM 3
2x15" 1000 watts @ 4ohms.
2x10" 400 watts @ 8ohms.
1x2" are 150 watts @16ohms.

Full spec sheet here: http://www.kirsch-akustik.de/downloads/tms3.pdf

Budget to drive 2x TMS 3 + 4x18' subs OR 4x21' subs <=1500/1600 euros, though if anything above this price point comes to mind I'll be happy to evaluate.

Thanks in advance!

Reactions: Gunter Tack
Tom,

The TSE 118 starts dropping off at 70Hz, -24dB at 40 Hz, less LF than the TMS-3.
The F118 drops off below 55 Hz, no better than the LF below the TMS-3, which drops off at 50Hz.
Front loaded (FLH) and Tapped horns (TH) designs with low corners in the 25-35 Hz range would be much more appropriate, unless you are primarily going to be playing music from the pre-digital era the TMS-3 was designed in (pre-1980). 700-1000w bass drivers also are kind of last century also, drivers with around double the power handling and excursion (there is no replacement for displacement..) are available, B&C has a good range of the best that work well in a variety of designs.