Bass wedge IEM etc

Stuart christie

May 19, 2020
Australia
Hi

I’m a noob bass man that’s getting my skills together and some gear.
My guitar is ok and so is my rig.

I’m confused why I’m getting told I’ll need a stage wedge/monitor.
I get sound from my rig and I don’t understand the purpose of the extra speaker.

sorry to start a whole thread for this.

Hi

I’m a noob bass man that’s getting my skills together and some gear.
My guitar is ok and so is my rig.

I’m confused why I’m getting told I’ll need a stage wedge/monitor.
I get sound from my rig and I don’t understand the purpose of the extra speaker.

sorry to start a whole thread for this.
The purpose of a stage monitor - often just for the singer in a small band - is usually to hear other members, not oneself. If you can hear what you need of the rest of the band ok over your backline, or don't need (or want!) to hear them, you don't need one, so save your money for strings/beer/other bassy things! Discuss with the other band members if they think you need a monitor, and why - it might be useful to get their reasoning, if it's them suggesting it.

(I have perhaps been a little presumptuous in that you are not playing stadium gigs where personal monitoring becomes standard to all band members; apologies if you are in the midst of planning such a gig, in which case I'm way out of my depth...).

Reactions: Stuart christie
You need a monitor to compensate for 2 things: distance (time) and enabling you to hear other instruments or singers to stay together.

Speed of sound through air is about 1 millisecond per foot of distance (for our illustration purposes)... so if you're depending on hearing the snare drum to sync up your bass playing... you need to be close to the drummer. If you're 20 feet away and depending hearing the snare to play, EVEN IF YOU COULD INSTANTLY PLUCK YOUR BASS you're starting out behind the drummer. If you get a touch of snare drum in your wedge, it's 5 ms from your ears, not 20 ms.