Long HDMI runs

I have an event this weekend where we project the running of the Kentucky Derby on a large screen during a fund raiser.

In the past, we have used the venue's satellite service for the source. We would disconnect the receiver from the dish, connect up 100' of coax and move the receiver to the hall where the projector was located. Pretty straightforward.

I went by the venue this week to check on some details and noticed that they had replaced the receiver and tv and they were now "buit in". That is, the power cords disappeared into the wall. I now cannot unplug the receiver and move it. Yikes!

I have 2 ideas for solving this and I wanted to pass them by folks who may have some experience in this.

1) Find someone near the venue with the same satellite service and borrow their receiver. Will connecting up another receiver from the area work? I have no experience this this (I have cable). Does it have to be the same model?

2) Get a long HDMI cable to run to the projector. It is about a 100' run. Just in case, I ordered an amplified 125' HDMI cable this morning for overnight delivery but I don't have that "I know this will work" feeling that I like to have going into a gig.

Thoughts?

Re: Long HDMI runs

We have had good luck with the long amplified cables in install applications. 2 things I would say though:

- The amplified cables are usually directional and have an end that needs to go to the projector and one that needs to go to the source

-Bring a long composite or S-Video cable as a backup. Sometimes HDMI just doesn't want to play nice with various projectors, etc. Composite won't look as good, but it should work very reliably.

any satellite receiver will work if it is as you say from the same service. the dish will be pointed at a specific satellite so will only work with that one, but the receiver won't know the difference from one dish to another.