Low cost way to setup presentation in specific format?

David Jones

Freshman
Aug 10, 2011
Hey guys,

I'm new to audio and all, so I don't know the specifics at all, so please excuse me if I mess up on something. I need to setup a presentation in which one person will be giving a speech, and others (probably up to 10 people) can listen to that same speech in real-time, with headphones or someway, It doesn't really matter if they have to sit all together at an area or something, that works too. I can't seem to find what this would be called, so it's giving me some difficulties, If anyone could help me with this, it'd be very much appreciated.

Thanks

David

Re: Low cost way to setup presentation in specific format?

David, welcome.

You left out one important detail in your description: where is the audience? Same room, same building, other side of the world, another planet? Are they together or all over the place?

Same room? mic and speaker

Same building? mic and speaker with long cable

Anywhere on earth? the Internet and some sort of streaming protocol should work...I'm not an expert here...

Somewhere extraterrestrial? I'm guessing something fancy with microwaves...

Are you thinking of assisitive listening for the hearing impaired or is this for another use?

Hey guys, thanks for your replies, but it's not quite what I was looking for.

There's going to be multiple presentations going on in this hall, I'd like to make an area of some sort, where one person would be talking from somewhere in the hall, and the headphones from the station would let you listen to it from this station, like multiple headphones for multiple people.

It's hard to describe, but in simplicity, a station with headphones that links to a microphone and then transmits in realtime what the person is saying from the microphone to the headphones, I'm not sure what a box for connecting multiple headphones and a microphone would be called though...