Tips/Tutorials for theatre vocal mic EQ/dynamics?

Simon Eves

Sophomore
May 12, 2013
I've been doing sound for community theatre for about 14 years now, the last couple of years on a digital board (an X32), but sometimes I still struggle with EQ and dynamics.

The same mic in the same rough position on different actors' cheeks can sound radically different. I guess some people's cheek skin or bone is just more resonant than others. Also, even though the mic is fixed to the face, the tone can still change with head position, presumably due to reflections off other parts of their body.

I usually find my EQ curves (again, for cheek-taped mics) ending up as a low cut around 150-200, then about 4-5dB down ramping up to level around 1K, then maybe a small peak around 5-6K for "presence" and 1-2dB push above that for some air if it's a dull mic. I often find that it's a very narrow range between "boomy" and "thin", and find myself tweaking low-cut and the 200-400 dip through the course of a show, as sometimes the same person will sound good when they're singing with others, but then sound too boomy when they're singing solo.

Much of this is probably down to proximity effect of the mic being so close to the cheek. I do try to leave at least 1/2" of cable free past the tape such that the head isn't actually touching the cheek, but that isn't always possible.

I have tried forehead mounting in the past, using toupee clips and/or thin elastic halos, and it certainly gives a more natural sound, but most of the time I can't justify the loss of gain-before-feedback, as I am mostly working in small venues with merely adequate speaker systems, hard walls/ceilings etc.