Blizzard Q12A RGBA LED Par

TJ Cornish

Graduate
Jan 13, 2011
St. Paul, MN
I put my new Blizzard Q12A RGBA PAR wash up against the lights I own and am most familiar with. I’m not a lighting expert and this is the first LED par that I’ve tried, so I don’t have a lot of experience of similar fixtures, but I use incandescent lights that a lot of quasi-budget conscious users have.

I, like everyone else, want all of the advantages of LEDs – low power draw, color changing abilities and not cooking the performers. I’m hoping to avoid the pitfalls of low brightness, poor beam characteristics, poor diming, etc. The Blizzrd Q12A caught my eye because it’s an RGBA fixture with approximately 10,000 lux in an attractive format for less than $300.

Here is a picture of my test setup:
attachment.php

The competition was a 150w PAR 38, a 500w PAR 64, and a Strand 26 degree 575w leko. The Strand is roughly comparable to an ETC Source 4 with a 575w halogen bulb, at least for brightness purposes. I didn’t have a 26 degree Source 4 or I would have used that instead. The camera was set to manual exposure - all pictures except the test setup picture are the same exposure settings.

Here’s the Strand 575w against the red channel of the Blizzard. Strand is on the left, Blizzard on the right.
attachment.php

Same light with green gel against the Blizzard
attachment.php

And blue
attachment.php

The 500W PAR 64 against the Blizzard
attachment.php

The PAR 38-150
attachment.php

The best 3000K-ish white I can get out of the Blizzard (100%R, 100%G, 75%B, 100%A) – note the color blotches in the beam
attachment.php

Strand ungelled against the Blizzard all 4 channels 100%
attachment.php

Strand red against Blizzard all 4 channels 100%
attachment.php