Crossover Polarity Question

Chuck Simon

Junior
Jan 19, 2011
I will preface my question by saying that I am no expert on passive crossovers, a fact that will be obvious to some of you after reading my question!

Just because I had them laying around, I thought I would put a couple of JBL 2206H's into a couple of JBL MPro 412 cabs. As expected, there was a nice improvement in the low end of the cab, especially at higher volume, but what puzzeled me is that switching the polarity of the woofer had no effect on the sound. Whether I wired the + to the red or black terminal of the JBL, I could hear no difference! Should I have heard a difference? How should switching the polarity of the woofer affect the performance of a passive crossover?

Re: Crossover Polarity Question

You were listening to the wrong part of the spectrum.

It's all about what happens at the *acoustic crossover*, which controls your on-axis AND off-axis response for that octave (approximately) of sound. Note that the electrical crossover point is likely to be a number that is different from the acoustic crossover point.

Have fun, good listening.

Tim Mc

I was trying to listen to the whole spectrum. What is it you think I should have been hearing?

I think that what Tim is saying is that inverting the polarity of the woofer won't affect the electronic crossover as you are inverting the polarity after the crossover, however it will affect the acoustic crossover and how the LF and HF drivers interact acoustically. Those effects would occur where both the woofer and tweeter are involved in reproducing the signal and may vary based on the relative location to the drivers. So try some frequency sweeps and listening both on axis and vertically and horizontally off axis.