Digital layouts for analog guys

Hey again all!
I have been doing live sound for over 30 years but almost feel like a newb on digital desks. I didn't get my 1st digital console until about 3 years ago - Presonous SL24.
Now I have 2 Soundcraft Performers - a 1 and a 3. I have used them both a few times and can get around them just fine but haven't done anything fancy. Lately, I have the 3 set up on my desk and have been fiddling with all of the things that can be done in the digital realm that really weren't possible on analog consoles - assigning inputs to whatever fader on whatever layer you want, assigning inputs to more than 1 fader for parallel processing or to have separate eq when running monitors from FOH, assigning outputs at will, saving scenes and presets, the list goes on.
1 of my professional new years resolutions for 2015 is to learn and own digital workflows. I am curious how other engineers set up their digital consoles, what kinds of cool things do you do with the advanced features, how you lay out VCAs & mute groups, etc.
Thanks for any input you can give!
Jeff

Re: Digital layouts for analog guys

I've found that with the short setup and changeover times I'm typically working with, I find myself using a very "analog" workflow even on digital consoles. Things like keeping the patch 1:1, not using presets, and hardly bothering with mute and other control groups (not really worth setting up for 16 channels...). OTOH, convenience features like scribble strips, channel color coding, tablet mixing, and offline show prep do get used. Also using the console as a system processor for smaller systems (having individual delay and EQ on each output is quite nice) is something I seem to be doing quite a bit, especially with self-powered speakers.

Hi Jeff-

The joy of most digital mixers is the wide latitude with configuration you get, and that's also the downfall.