Flight cases

Steve Tarak

Sophomore
Jan 12, 2011
Indy
Anyone build their own? Where did you come to pricewise vs new? What suppliers are available for parts (obviously P E is one...) Any tips, tricks or advice you might offer Baldilocks, ( I am a skilled carpenter, give or take a thumb tip...but that's not important now) or should I phone my people at Audiopile and Jan Al?

Re: Flight cases

Anyone build their own? Where did you come to pricewise vs new? What suppliers are available for parts (obviously P E is one...) Any tips, tricks or advice you might offer Baldilocks, ( I am a skilled carpenter, give or take a thumb tip...but that's not important now) or should I phone my people at Audiopile and Jan Al?

Hello Steve,

We've run the numbers and have come to the conclusion that it's cost effective to purchase rather than build a traditional road case. Time, build/layout space, tool purchase, wasted material, nasty adhesives, and cost to have parts shipped in, are some of the biggest factors.

If you're in need of a case for a console....purchase it, don't try to build one.

Cable and utility trunks ( painted wood only) can be a cost saving/time widdlin' task, but leave the amp racks, cosole cases, effects racks, etc.... to someone else.

Cheers,
Hammer

ps. look for deals on used racks/cases

As Charlie said:
Cable and utility trunks ( painted wood only) can be a cost saving/time widdlin' task, but leave the amp racks, cosole cases, effects racks, etc.... to someone else.

I build my large boxes for hauling monitors and painted them w/duratex.
These boxes fit 4 monitors exactly and custom cases would have cost a lot more
Everything else, I buy manufactured.
Especially racks. Someone is always selling good used racks cheaper than you can build them.

...Everything else, I buy manufactured.
Especially racks. Someone is always selling good used racks cheaper than you can build them.