Mixing IEM

I was sat thinking the other day (dangerous thing for me to do), as a monitor engineer I don't think I have ever actually heard another engineers version of mixing in ear monitors. It's really easy as a monitor babysitter over the years hearing how the Pros are doing wedges / side-fills but with in-ears the babysitter tends to miss out on hearing whats actually going on.

I have recently taken over doing a band who are exclusively on IEM and my approach is different from their previous monitor guy. It got me wondering what are other peoples approaches to dealing with IEM, How do you construct your mixes? what tricks are you using to get that separation in there? and to generally make them sound good!

I approach it as a full mix as apposed to just the instrument or vocal of the person. Using panning to create the separation and layering verbs to create a bit of depth to the mixes. I've also started splitting channels to have compressed and uncompressed things in there. Uncompressed for say the singer..... and compressed for everyone else to keep their mixes stable.

I suppose I'm just looking for more ideas to steal!

Kim

Re: Mixing IEM

I'm not Varsity level, but if it's a band i've done before then I've made a recording of their previous performance and then will play back the recording through the board and mix a good even blend (to my ears.) I use that mix for all members then I boost the each person's instrument/vocal in their ear. That's usually a good starting place for me.
YMMV I'm a JV guy

Kim,

I think you hit most of my important points, but I will add that I really want an extra receiver so I can scan each of the signals going out to the stage.

I think that is the iem version of having a matching wedge in monitor world.