Multiple small speakers vs. minimum large speakers

Shawn Morton

Freshman
May 16, 2017
Hello Forum,

My first post...

I'm looking for some experienced opinions on a sound system I need to provide to a large outdoor audience in the near future. I've attached a PDF to this post if you care to have a look. Note the scissor lift in the first photo, which is where the speakers were placed at this event in past years.

I've been providing sound systems to smaller events for a few years and have always managed fine with Yorkville's line...PSA1s, PS15s NX750P etc. I don't require a lot of bass so rarely include subs. I haven't worked an event with an audience or "venue" of this size before. This location is well know for sucking up a lot of sound.

From a budget perspective it would be best for me to rent multiple Yorkville speakers to pair with what I own. As an example, I could run ten PSA1s as well as four NX750ps. For a much larger budget I could run four Meyer MSL4s or something similar, which came as a recommendation from a company more experienced with larger audiences.

What I'm wondering is, can smaller speakers like the PSA1s perform well over long throw distances (>250 ft) when the quantity is increased, or are they only suited for shorter throw distances (<200 ft) regardless of the quantity.

Thank-you in advance for any responses.

Attachments

• AudiencePhotos.pdf
    896 KB · Views: 5
Expanding on what Rob said, sound is all about compromises.