Need help on Vocal Mic Selection Female Soul Singer Lead Vocalist

Michael Evans

Freshman
Dec 26, 2012
Melbourne, Australia
Picked up a gig in 2 weeks with a new Funk Soul Band that I have never worked with before. The lead vocalist is a lady with powerful vocals at times with some very quiet songs also. Normally I have Sm58's of Akg d770's for vocals but she said she won't use them. She only wants 1 one wedge offset to stage left of the mic stand

She hasn't said what she wants, just she doesn't want what I have currently. Sounds like my first wife :)

She is a bit of a prima dona and I asked the question on what to provide and received silence, again like my first wife.

Anyway, I've never done this sort of music and never had a problem with my vocal mics on the 50 or so gigs i have done with my kit. They are a 6 piece group, they all do backup vocals

Any suggestions on what I should look at ? I have 2 weeks to sort it

Thanks in advance
Michael

Re: Need help on Vocal Mic Selection Female Soul Singer Lead Vocalist

Short of telling them that they either provide you with information or accept what you have, you could try and look for a youtube vide or something else on the net that might provide you with an answer.
There are lots of good dynamic mikes out there that will cater well for big dynamic range, Audio Technica AE4100 is a good one that will take 58 abuse and will handle extreme level as well as the 770 but with much better sound than either,.... or you could step up to the AE5400 condenser if you feel like spending the money.
Audix OM7 is also a good one for reasonable money.

Shure KSM9, Sennheiser E965, Neuman KMS104, Beyer TGV96 are of course mikes that you can't go wrong with, any of those will be good enough for any artist as long as that artist isn't the kind of arsehole that keeps dropping the mike (specify in the contract that there is a 200 buck charge for dropping a lead mike :twisted: )