TH118vsSB1000z

Brandon Wright

Freshman
Sep 19, 2012
As promised, I had some time today to make some quick and dirty measurements of the TH118 and an SB1000z.

Now, take these for what they are worth. I am an amateur when it comes to measurements, this was in the shop (it was too cold and windy to go outside), and it was done with a hundred dollar microphone. That being said, it should provide for a good enough relative comparison. Mic position was roughly 2 meters away directly between the two subs with the unused sub shorted and simply moving the speaker cable back and forth. Processing was simply a 25hz hpf and an 80hz lpf.
TH118vSb1000.jpg

My ears agree with what the trace shows. That increased sensitivity from 40hz to 80hz is definitely noticeable. I was surprised to see that the SB1000 had a bit of an advantage down low. However, while the sb1000 may be putting out more energy, the TH118 sounds way cleaner doing it. The subjective perception of SQ is interesting. While the TH118 is definitely more accurate, many of the guys preferred the "crunchy" sound of the sb1000. Probably because that is what they are used to.

Morals of the story:
1. Both are good subs and I have no problems mixing on either of them.

2. Price differences are negligible.

3. The TH118's provide a better stacking surface for the purposes of my 650 rig.

4. However, for big shows, you don't have to explain to a BE what an sb1000 is. The only question is: how big of a pile would you like?

Okay, rip away. 8)~:cool:~:cool:

Re: TH118vsSB1000z

Oh and I forgot to add that we had 24 brand new EV xsubs in the shop, and let's just say they were the definite loser in this test. I thought I saved a trace, but alas it's not there. Lets just say it was pathetic when we switched to them from the TH118 and sb1000 while listening to Thanks to You by Boz Scaggs. 8O~8-O~:shock: Oh well, the high profile customers get whatever it is they think they want...........:roll: