to biamp or not to biamp

LiamSmith

Freshman
Jun 5, 2012
Ulster, NY
I am powering a pair of qrx212 with an XTI 2000 in stereo mode. I do currently own a second xti 2000 that's just sitting around. Would it be safe to biamp my 212's with the second xti? Or should I bridge one 2000 into each passive? Or just keep things as they are?

I had heard there are some real advantages to biamping the 212's, but I have never done it before.

Re: to biamp or not to biamp

Bennett Prescott wrote a wonderful article on powering loudspeakers that you can view here. The most important thing to get out of it is that- yes, you can. But be careful and do the math before trying it. I would try to explain some more, but I would prefer if a more experienced member explained this one as I am rather inexperienced in this area.

When I bought my 212s (used), the sellers both strongly suggested I biamp them.

So, I got a DSP and got settings for it (how I got them is an interesting tale for another time). Meanwhile I ran em full range.

When I fired them up in the biamp config I was stunned. Different beasts. Much nicer.

I use QSC amps so I can pretty much put any of my PLX amps on either the HF or LF as long as the DSP was set right. I use a PLX1602 for the HF and a PLX3402 for the LF.

I understand that you need to set it up a little differently with Crown amps but know not about the details. I am sure there are folks here who can sort it out.

Sent from my iPad HD