VTC subs compare to Danleys?

Re: VTC subs compare to Danleys?

Anyone using and liking the VTC 18" tapped horn subs?
I have no experience with the VTC tapped horns-but would like to clarify that Tom Danley did not design those cabinets. The technology (ideas etc) are licensed from Danley-but designed by VTC Engineers.

What they do with the idea is up to them.

I will say that there are some "unaccounted for" aspects of the tapped horn that have taken awhile to develop (just look at how much better Toms current creations are-than his first attempts were before starting Danley). Somethings take awhile to "get a handle on".

And NO-we are not telling what those "unaccounted for" things are. I see all kinds of DIY attempts that miss it.

Recently in Germany an interesting thing happened to a rental house. A guy rented a pair of TH118s. When he brought them back a week later he told what he did with them.

He shipped them 500 miles to a gathering of Tapped horn DIY guys. The idea was to simply measure them. They had all built their versions of a TH118 (a single 18" driver in a cabinet about the same cubic volume) and wanted to do a side by side.

Their measurement of the TH118 was 0.5dB higher than the Danley specs (I tend to take the conservative approach and go down in SPL specs-rather than up).

And it was 5-6dB higher than the best of the other cabinets.

They guys were pleased and disappointed at the same time.

John -

A couple of local guys here are using the VTC 18, extremely impressive. It goes low, gets very loud, well worth a demo. (I haven't heard the TH118.) The VTC guys are very high on this box, I can see why.

-Tim T

Hopefully the VTC licensed technology performs better than the DIY guesses at how to make one.

I get a rather lukewarm reading from Ivan's comments.

I hope TD is being fairly compensated for all commercial executions of his IP....

JR

JR -