Windows Version

David Karol

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 10, 2011
San Francisco, CA
www.davidkarol.com
I need to pick up a copy of Windows for my laptop- I've always just used XP, but I read that support for it is ending in 2014. I figure I might as well upgrade.

What version of Windows is everyone using for their audio tablets? Is there a lot of compatibility with Windows 8 now? Or am I better off sticking with 7?

Thanks.

Re: Windows Version

I too have XP and like it.Too bad they won't support it anymore.A few months back,I purchased a computer with Windows 8 for a museum I am an officer in. I hated it.Returned it for one with Windows 7 and everything is fine. I recently read were Microsoft has recieved alot of complaints about Win 8 and is making major changes to it.

Windows 8 is no different than the normal windows releases in that the every other one is terrible.

I've switched my motion computing LE1700 to mint Linux with WINE to run all of the windows native programs. Strangely system architect runs better under wine that it does in windows, but you have to download quite a few APIs to get it to work initially. Haven't had a single crash since I switched.

In response to your question 8 still has several driver issues with some devices.
Sent from my neural implant

My tablet runs Windows 7, works great for Band Manager, System Architect, XControl, MagicQ and Light Jockey.

We just bought another tablet that came preloaded with 8, it is going to be used primarily for LJ though (hopefully).

I need to pick up a copy of Windows for my laptop- I've always just used XP, but I read that support for it is ending in 2014. I figure I might as well upgrade.

What version of Windows is everyone using for their audio tablets? Is there a lot of compatibility with Windows 8 now? Or am I better off sticking with 7?

Thanks.

What laptop do you have?

Thanks.

Hi David,