Every live sound engineer should spend a little time in a recording studio.

Eric Cagle

Senior
Jan 20, 2011
Atlanta, GA
Let me preface this with I have been a recording engineer since 1981 (anyone remember 2" tape?). I love live sound for many reasons such as not having to listen to the same song over and over and over and over for three days while everyone retakes all their parts or segments or even a few notes to get that "perfect" performance. Also for those of you who take it for granted there is nothing like being behind a state of the art system with stacks of BIG subs making BIG sound.

Spending a little time in a studio really allows you to learn what your tools will actually do in a slow paced environment. What does compression sound like at 3:1? 6:1? 10:1? What does slowing the attack do? What does slowing or speeding up the release do? Yes we get to play with it a little in live sound but get behind some really high resolution monitors or a really good set of headphones and spend some time with a looped track and you will really learn what compression parameters really do.

What does your noise gate really do? How much of the attack does it really clip off? How accurate does it track? How much can you take out with the key filters and rate before it starts to degrade the sound of the original input noticeably? What release rate sounds the most natural?

It is all about subtle differences that you can actually hear in a studio environment.