Lookin for a new setup.. thoughts on EV tour X?

Dev Conboy

Freshman
Dec 8, 2013
St. Louis/Chicago
Hey there,

Im currently DJing in the St. Louis area, and need to upgrade my system. I currently use the first generation Mackie SRM450's and I'm tired of them jumping in to thermal protection and blowing the tweeters. I need something real loud with a lot of punch, I've heard great things on the EV tour X series, and have around three thousand to spend. Help me build a dream system?

Im currently looking at the EV TX2152's and a suitable amp. Ive heard mixed reviews on the yamaha DSR215s, but really haven't found anywhere where i can take a listen.

Let me know what you think,
Dev

Re: Lookin for a new setup.. thoughts on EV tour X?

I have been using the EV Tourx system now for about 2 years and have never regretted it. We have two separate rigs of it. It is by far the best bang for your buck. The Tx2152's are an incredible sounding box. We run ours over top the Tx2182 dual 18" subs all powered by EV Q1212 amps.

Hey there,

Im currently DJing in the St. Louis area, and need to upgrade my system. I currently use the first generation Mackie SRM450's and I'm tired of them jumping in to thermal protection and blowing the tweeters.

Let me know what you think,
Dev

Dev...

I think if you haven't learned how not to blow up the Mackies you'll blow up whatever you replace them with...later if not sooner.

Dev...

I think if you haven't learned how not to blow up the Mackies you'll blow up whatever you replace them with...later if not sooner.

I mean I know how to keep them from peaking and popping on me, I just need some more punch when I'm djing. They can't handle large bars with over 200 people in them. So when I play a popular song and the crowd goes nuts, They can't cut through the venue and I need to push them to keep the crowd grooving. Suggestions please...