Duel limiters for IEM drummer.

Mark Hunt

Freshman
Oct 26, 2012
Hi all. I am a drummer that is legally blind. The last thing I want is feedback hitting me with IEM's. I've searched past posts and couldn't find an answer to this question.

I want to use a shure PMXXX wired IEM with an AVIOM IIRC. I know the shure has a built in limiter I will ALWAYS use but I have to add an external feedback suppressor and dedicated dominator II as a brick wall limiter. I would hook them up in the mains insert on a small mixer where I will have all my drums output and subgroups of all the other stuff I want in my mix. So is this overkill?

drum mic input splits, FOH sub groups -> mains insert -> FDS feedback suppressor -> Dominator II limiter -> mains out -> The aviom input -> AN16II-rc -> shure limiter -> my ears

Is the shure real good as a limiter? Because of my vision this is a very important issue for me.

Again thanks for help/info.

Re: Duel limiters for IEM drummer.

the limiter in the shure is of limited usefulness since it has no threshold control and different IEM drivers have very different sensitivities. with some drivers, it'll limit far too early. with others, it won't hit before your eardrums cave in.

also, the feedback eliminator inline is probably not necessary or will even be all that helpful. by the time it clamps down on any feedback, the damage will have already been done.

the Dominator II however, IS a good idea. excellent unit that has been used in this capacity for many years. if you can get one, it would absolutely be a good idea.

i am a little confused as to how the AVIOM figures into all of this. it seems you have a split off all your drum inputs into a submixer as well as FOH groups in that mixer. and the output of that mixer feeds your in-ears. Where does the Aviom come in?